Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:27 p.m. - 12/14/2009
I'm back
Man what am I doing back here? I haven't been here in ages! There's dust on all the furniture and the wiring is shot. I almost broke an ankle climbing the stairs to the porch; I put my foot through the rotted wood on the first riser.

The banister on the spiral staircase to the second floor is just...gone. Looks like someone found that good wood too beautiful to resist.

I shine the flashlight into a far-off corner and wake the bats nesting there. They do not even bother to take flight. Instead, there is a sort of liquid movement as they all stir as one. Beautiful and profane all at once.

I walk back towards the kitchen and a rodent scurries away at my step. The cabinets still hang, to my surprise, although there are only two of ten doors left. Stove, refrigerator, countertops? Heh.

Heading on through the kitchen, out to the sun porch now. The scene of so many long lazy afternoons, me here, you there. Someone has stood our old glider on end out in the backyard under the weeping willow tree.

I'm back.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!